Clowes, Seth and Speigelman talk with Lenny Lopate

New York radio’s one, only, Leonard Lopate had Daniel Clowes and Seth in a group interview yesterday.  I’d love to get a hold of Clowes’ new one, Death-Ray.  I remember reading Eightball in Jim Hanley’s and being totally perplexed reading it.  Having not been allowed to watch David Lynch movies – or Twin Peaks which I think my parents watched – I couldn’t make heads or tails of it.  I might have recognized some surrealism in it, but I didn’t really get that either.

Shortly before that Lopate had Art Speigelman on about his new book, Metamaus – all about, well, Maus. One chapter title is Why mice?  Looks interesting.

Some might say this is Speigelman cashing in, but I would disagree.  After so many cases of artists that can take no more of their greatest hit – Whitman reading “Oh Captain, My Captain” comes to mind – it’s the first time I can think of that an artist accepts a greatest hit in her/his work and turns it into something new.

Leave a Reply

