Trini City

On my way to Grenada I stayed a few days in Port of Spain, Trinidad, which I found fascinating.

Trinidad, unbeknownst to me before leaving, would be the repeating theme of my trip, as well as the soca song “Differentology”.

¨Ready for the road¨ I wasn´t, but after a week at the conference, meeting a slew of interesting, wonderful people I felt absolutely inspired. Almost enough to don warrish medieval gear.

That said, the very first thing I heard about in Trinidad was a drink called Guiness and Puncheon (overproof rum). The cab driver on the way from the airport told me all about the special effects of this one-two punch. He told me it´s best to drink in the company of a loved one. Then he asked me if I had ever heard of Rikki Jai. I said I hadn´t. Now I have. So here is Guiness and Puncheon. From what I understand it belongs to a genre some call Chutney Soca.

Trindad Museum of Art. I never got to go in.

Trindad Museum of Art. I never got to go in.

Cricket on a Sunday in Queens Park. Bought Beyond the Boundary, CLR James´ book about cricket; my Trinidadian roomate Kobi scoffed at me.

Cricket on a Sunday in Queens Park. Bought Beyond the Boundary, CLR James´ book about cricket; my Trinidadian roomate Kobi scoffed at me.

Government building.

Government building.

Hereford's Social Club. I was being anti-social at the time, just having a beer in a dark bar on a sunny day.

Hereford’s Social Club. I was being anti-social at the time, just having a beer in a dark bar on a sunny day.

Leave a Reply

