How Iggy Pop became Iggy Pinsky

I don’t even like rock music, but my roomate from college did.  He used to pump Iggy Pop all the time, so I sort of got to know it.  I think I had Jim Jarmusch’s Dead Man had came out around that time too, in which Iggy Pop plays a wild man, by which I mean, he played himself in period garb.

As an undergrad I heard Robert Pinksy lecture.  And that´s around where I realized that Iggy Pop´s alter-ego was Robert Pinsky.  Don´t believe me?

So who is the new Iggy Pop?  That’s easy, Robert Pinsky.

Just look at a few stanza from Pinks’y poem “Samurai Song”:

When I had no roof I made
Audacity my roof. When I had
No supper my eyes dined.

When I had no eyes I listened.
When I had no ears I thought.
When I had no thought I waited.

When I had no father I made
Care my father. When I had
No mother I embraced order.

This is surely a clandenstine B-side from The Stooges days.

Any when I sobered up, I started digging enjambment, says Iggy Pinsky.

Leave a comment